Week 8: Zoo Field Trip

Life Drawing but with Bears

While there weren’t all that many animals from Russia that I needed to see there, I made a point of drawing the closest thing I could find to a lot of the animals I needed – sun bears, kea instead of falcons, rabbits instead of snow hares, sheep instead of mountain goats, kuni-kuni pigs instead of wild boar, that sort of thing.

Just a note, I got really close to nature with the kea when it started nibbling at my sketch book, then trying to eat my pencil when I was sketching it. Despite the obstructions, it was really being quite accommodating by coming up so close.

My esteemed colleague Susie Legg filmed these of me.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑